Back to top

Bylaws of the Faculty of the School of Information Sciences

You are here

These Bylaws are instituted by the School of Information Sciences as directed by the College of Communication and Information. The School’s Bylaws are supplemental to the College Bylaws, the Faculty Handbook and the Manual for Faculty Evaluation, and the regulations of the University in general; in the event of conflict, the latter will prevail.


  • Promote the mission, goals, and objectives of the School of Information Sciences as stated in the current Graduate Catalog of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.
  • Provide an operational framework for democratic and collegial interaction among the members of the Faculty to discuss and to determine academic and professional policies, standards, and procedures.
  • Promote the mission of the University of Tennessee, which includes excellence in instruction, research, and public service.
  • Further a commitment to diversity and equal opportunity for all since diversity and fairness are the foundation that unites the School’s faculty, staff, students, and the larger information sciences community.

View the UTK School of Information Sciences Bylaws | May 2018