Back to top

SIS Graduates 2017 Class at Hooding Ceremony

2017 GraduatesThe 2017 School of Information Sciences Hooding Ceremony took place on Friday, May 12 at the UT Haslam Music Building auditorium. Sixty students from fall 2016, spring and summer 2017 were recognized at the ceremony. Twenty-eight of those students were able to participate in the event on campus to receive their Master’s degree in Information Science.

Director and Professor Diane Kelly presided over the ceremony, her first since being named director in 2016. Rachel Lynch, a librarian from Delaware, gave the keynote address on behalf of her fellow students. Because the program can be completed by online courses, students reside in many different cities and states.

Also during the ceremony, awards and scholarships were presented.  Kendra Albright (BS/CEHHS ’79; MS/IS ’85; PhD/C&I ’02), director of the Kent State University School of Library and Information Sciences, received the SIS Distinguished Alumni Award. Albright was participating in commencement activities at her own college and was not able to attend the ceremony.

Chad Mitchell (MS/IS ’14) received the Innovator’s Award for 2017 which was presented by Amy Dye-Reeves (MS/IS ’13), president of the SIS Alumni Society.

Student awards for 2017 are as follows:

Outstanding Master’s Graduate - Rebecca McCusker

Gary Purcell Award - Lara Marler

Academic Achievement Award - Nick Guernsey & Rachel Lynch

Outstanding Service Award - Stephanie Miranda

Outstanding ePortfolio Award - Kelsey (Kittie) Crittenden

Outstanding ePortfolio Award (Runner-up) - Jessica Garner

Outstanding ePortfolio Award (Honorable Mention) - Stephanie Miranda

Best Technical Project Award (Group) - Kelsey (Kittie) Crittenden, Bonnie Finn, Sarah Johnson, Rebecca McCusker

Best Technical Project Award (Individual) - Maggie Killman

Best Technical Project Award (Individual) - Heather Hall


Scholarships awarded for 2017 are as follows:

Glenn E. Estes Fellowship - Elizabeth Gallagher & Marie Ryall

Luigi Lemoncello Youth Services Scholarship - Courtney Brown & Sara First

Carmen L. Moulton Memorial Scholarship - Jodie Baker

Gary R. Purcell Scholarship - Chelsea Seddon

Jane M. Ray Scholarship - Amy Carlson, Alicia Foster, Sharra Rosichan, & Cheyanna Wickman,

Marcellus Turner Travel Scholarship - Ashlea Green

John C. Tyson Scholarship - Alexa Carter & Laurie Stansbury

H. W. Wilson Scholarship - Amy Eshgh

“We congratulate our graduates for this major accomplishment,” said Kelly. “We see the contributions our alumni are making to their communities and expect these graduates will be equally successful in their careers and service.”