Back to top

Two SIS Students Awarded Marcellus Turner Travel Scholarships

Marcellus TurnerHilary Jasmin and Josh Borycz, both second year students in the UT School of Information Sciences, have been awarded travel scholarships to attend professional conferences. The scholarships were made possible by a generous gift from alumnus Marcellus Turner (MS/IS ’88), Seattle’s city librarian. “Because many students don’t have extra funds available to travel to professional conferences, Marcellus felt it was important to support the participation of two students each year,” explained SIS Director Diane Kelly. “By attending conferences, our students have the opportunity to learn more about the many facets of the profession and begin to establish their professional network.”

Marcellus Turner was the 2014 SIS Distinguished Alumni Award recipient. He currently oversees the central library and 26 branches in Seattle with an operating budget of over $70 million. Turner has served on several American Library Association committees in leadership roles. He is currently a member of the UT College of Communication & Information Board of Visitors.

Hilary JasminHilary Jasmin serves as a campus representative for the student chapter of the Society of American Archivists. She is participating in a US Department of State Diplomacy Lab research project. She graduated from Mississippi University for Women with the BA in Communications in 2014. Coincidentally, that is the same university where Marcellus Turner earned his undergraduate degree! Jasmin hopes to become an academic librarian. She plans to attend the ALA conference in New Orleans this summer thanks to the funding from this scholarship.

Josh BoryczJosh Borycz earned a PhD in Chemistry from the University of Minnesota in 2016 and started the SIS program in 2017. He plans to use his travel scholarship to attend the annual ASIS&T conference in Vancouver BC later this year. Currently Borycz is working on a research paper with Professors Suzie Allard and Carol Tenopir about the data management practices of scientists in the American Geophysical Union.